Opening Note

Hello! This is the opening of my author website. I will be posting both my book reviews and snippets of my new upcoming novel, Ensuing Darkness on here, so if that sounds like something you would like, feel free to follow me! Click on the Ensuing Darkness tab on the menu above to see my cover and an excerpt.
You can also find this one and others on my profile on figment.com/users/46371-Sabrina-Baxley.

And without further adieu, I present you the the cover and first sneak peak into Ensuing Darkness!
I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it!

Chapter One

Strangers

Everyone rushed off to class and left me to walk the nearly empty hall alone. A girl who’d had gym last period spread the word about the new ‘activity’ we were doing this year. Dance. It was no longer an elective apparently. I tried not to picture what a fool I was about to make of myself, jumping around and attempting to do flips I had no right or experience doing. After gathering my messenger bag from my blue locker, I continued my walk towards inevitable embarrassment.

Wind swept through the breezeway then, my dirty blonde hair flying into my deep green eyes as a sigh escaped me. Maybe if I was late enough, all the positions would be filled. My mind suggested as I drug myself against my will toward the gym. The thought brought with it several excuses with which to convince the Coach.

The perfect lie settling on my lips, I was soon walking through steel double doors, only to find that class had apparently already started. Melodious music was coming from a handheld stereo on the opposite side of the room and beside it sat a beautiful red-head in a dark green ball gown. Her eyes flicked towards me briefly before returning her attention to the middle of the room where four couples were dancing in a circle around our mascot’s head, a ferocious Maxville white wolf.

“Kota.” Someone whispered. Glancing around, I saw my best friend sitting on my right, waving me over. “I thought you weren’t going to show up.” Sue whispered when I was close enough.

“I thought about it.” I admitted, then added, “What is this? Don’t tell me we’re going to be learning this.”

“Ballroom, and yes I think so.” We both winced. I sighed. “I know, but hey, maybe it won’t be so bad.”

“But why here?” Yes Maxville was a city in Colorado, but a small one compared to our neighbor. Brookstock was nearly twice as large, and the thought of having dancers show up unannounced to teach their students just seemed more likely. We had lived here all our lived and never had I once heard of anything like this happening.

“I don’t know.” she admitted. “Maybe… Brookstock said no? Or they couldn’t do it?”

“If they couldn’t’ do it, then how could we?” I asked, and she shrugged.

“I don’t know, I was just saying…” She glanced back over to the dancers, and then it hit me.

“Okay, where is he?” I started scanning the faces of the dancers. That’s the only reason she would be okay with doing something like this.

Your thoughts?

