Strangers p2

She was just about to protest when we heard a hissing sound and looked over to where Coach Bailey and the red-head, who I assume was the instructor, were sitting in the front row. He pointed a finger at us and then put it over his lips, a warning look in his eyes. We immediately looked back at the dancers.
All wearing tuxes and gowns, they danced with fluidity the likes of which I’d never seen before. The music seemed to own them; its sweet, slow notes seizing their bodies and bending them as it saw fit. They all very well muscled and tanned, and upon closer inspection I saw they were also our age. We were all in rapture at their performance, except for the instructor, who watched them with an approving smile. She almost looked like she wanted to be out there with them as she slightly nodded her head and tapped her foot with the beat.
“So?” I whispered to her. She raised her eyebrows in question and I added, “who is he?”
“I don’t know what –” she stopped when she saw my look and finally conceited. “He’s the one dancing with the girl in the green dress.”
I immediately zeroed in on him and nodded approvingly. He had an angular face that at the same time seemed soft, had short dark brown hair and moss-green eyes that were trained on his partner. He held her so gently and a smile played on his lips like he was genuinely enjoying this. Glancing at Sue, I said, “I like him. He’s cute.”
“I just hope he’s single. I mean, the way they’re looking at each other…” she trailed off and watched his partner, who was smiling flirtatiously back at him. I knew what she was thinking and I understood. Almost. I mean, sure, all of the girls were tall and had more muscle definition than I’d ever seen, their skin was flawless and I could swear they were models, but that didn’t mean we didn’t have anything to compete with. We had muscles, we were both lean and even though we were short we had always had pretty good game when it came to the opposite sex.

Your thoughts?

