Strangers p5

 

“Oh, yeah.” I said and everyone laughed. I cracked a half smirk like I meant to do that. Sue gave me a weird look and all I could do was shake my head and roll my eyes. She stifled a laugh. So we all lined up. There were quite a few of us, and I wondered just how many of us were going to kill our feet and each other’s trying to learn this stuff just to be cut before the competition even started.

It was then that Mrs. Peters’ students returned, now dressed in regular clothes, and she introduced them to us. Ivan, who was the twin Sue liked, had a sweet and pleasant face not unlike Mrs. Peters. Connelly, however, was not sweet looking, and stood there like he was bored but at the same time cocky enough to think he owned the place. I suddenly didn’t feel as inclined to flirt with him as before since he seemed so much like the other guys I knew. I sighed inwardly, wasn’t there anyone different these days?

The two girls who had danced with the twins, Dara and Valya, gave a smile and a small curtsy. Mira, who sported a black bob and had elven features, had trained her deep blue eyes on the ceiling and looked as if she’d rather be doing something better with her time. Meanwhile Alister, who’d been her partner, glowered at the floor. Looking between them, you could tell they were both pissed at something that probably had something to do with each other. They were definitely together. He and Aubrey were the only ones in the group that had a different last name than the rest, theirs being Montague while the others was Peters. Aubrey seemed to be the friendliest other than Ivan. She smiled almost eagerly and dipped in an enthusiastic curtsy that made her curly auburn hair bounce in front of her bright blue eyes.

Vincent was the last to be introduced, and he just smiled and nodded.

They came to stand in a line behind her that was parallel to us as she took her time looking each of us over and sometimes muttering to herself and asking us questions. When she got to Sue and I, I felt myself get anxious. I was nervous of making a fool of myself anyway, but now, as she made me step forward to better look at me, I felt as though it came down to whether she thought I was good enough to even begin. “Do you dance?” she asked, her voice soft and pleasant.

I thought of the dancing I did, the kind everyone does nowadays with no set steps, and replied, “Kinda. I mean, it’s normal dancing. Not like what you do.”

 

Your thoughts?

