Strangers p8

 

 

“Oh it’s ok.” I said, shrugging. “I think I handled it pretty well.”

He nodded and chuckled under his breath. “Well, maybe next time we could be partners and I can show you how it’s supposed to be done. What do you say?”

I was sure I was blushing. “We’ll see.”

Then we left him standing there as we made our way to the parking lot, giggling. “Wow,” said Sue, “He’s cute.”

“And trouble. I can already tell.” I added as we climbed into my yellow Xterra. We were next door neighbors and Sue didn’t have a car yet so we were pretty much always together. We even worked at the same place, which, did just happen to be a restaurant.

It was called The Southern Experience and served everything from steaks and burgers to burritos and tacos. The food was actually pretty good and the tips weren’t bad either. Walking through the back door, we hurriedly changed into our red work shirts and grabbed our aprons before coming onto the floor as waitresses.

~*~

“What happened in there?” Connelly asked as he, Ivan and Alister started home.

“Nothing.” Alister glowered in the back seat.

“Come on,” prodded Ivan. “just tell us.”

“She just hacked me off, alright? Not much more to it.”

“Looked to me like you were already hacked off. What did Mira do this time?” Connelly glanced back at him and received a glare.

“That’s between me and her.” he said.

“She’s my sister.” Connelly reminded playfully. “And as her brother I think I have the right to know.”

“I said no!” Alister growled.

Connelly whipped around and looked him straight in the eye. “You better be careful of that temper of yours.”

“What are you gonna do about it? Teach me a lesson?” Alister cocked his head to the side, taunting him.

As a matter of fact –”

“Both of you stop. Connelly, sit down.” Ivan raised his voice and after a minute Connelly slid back into his seat. They were quiet for a while.

“So,” began Alister, “why were you so interested in that girl?”

“I thought she looked good.” Connelly offered.

“No, it was more than that. You felt something didn’t you? I know that look.” Alister leaned forward and looked at Connelly, but he just turned to stare out the window. “Oooh, so it is something.”

 

Your thoughts?

