Strangers p9

“Alister shut up.” Ivan said and after giving him a good glare, Alister leaned back against his seat and stared out the window too.

They arrived at the house quickly, despite the fact they lived on the outskirts of town, and Alister was in the house before Ivan could turn off the ignition. “So,” he turned to Connelly, who hadn’t moved, “what was that earlier? With you and the girl?”

He didn’t answer for a minute, but then said, “I honestly don’t know. It was weird, but Alister was right. I did feel something. I’m just not sure what.”

“If it was enough that you had to go over and talk to her, it must be big.” he said and they shared a look.

“I don’t know what it is, but it’s gonna mess with me until I figure it out.”

~*~

“Hey Kota, you were just a second away from being late.” Lou, my manager, yelled from over the ovens Saturday night.

“Sorry Lou.” Without a glance his way, I tied my apron around me as I exited the kitchen doors, walked through the nearly empty non-smoking section, and into the crowded smoking section where the front desk was.

“Hey guys, how’s it been?” Ray, the only male waiter in the whole place, asked as two rugged looking guys walked in.

“Alright, not too bad. Yourself?” said the one in front, tallest of the two with dark brown hair and hazel eyes. Both him and the other guy, a blue-eyed brunette, wore gray shirts and jeans, dirt and sediment covering them from head to toe. “Is Kota -Ah, there she is.”

Ray smiled and handed me their menus before returning to his own customers. “Jack,” I smiled as he opened his arms for a hug, but I declined. “You’re covered in dirt.”. I’d been their waitress since day one, and they came in once or twice a week from the rock mill on the other side of town. “C’mon.”

“So, how’ve you been, Kota?” Jason, the other one, asked as he and Jack took the table in the right corner of the non-smoking area.

“Good. How about you guys? I was getting worried that you wouldn’t be coming this week.” I said, my pen and notepad ready. “Drinks for you?”

“Well I’m sorry if I scared you.” said Jack, winking at me and flashing a grin.

“Don’t worry, we have a defibrillator in the back.” I smiled back and they laughed.

Your thoughts?

