Unsettling p2

“They were arguing,” Mira answered, sitting in the armchair abreast to Alister’s.

“We weren’t,” Connelly corrected, throwing her a sharp look that she returned with equal intensity. “She was… upset.”

Why?” Mathias asked, his voice calm.

“She said I was rude, and that I was making the other girls cry. Which I wasn’t.

“Is this the truth?” Mathias prodded, then Alister interrupted.

Yes, he was.” Connelly sent him a warning look, but he continued. “But does it really matter? I mean, she’s just a stuck up little–” He paused when Amelia shot him a warning look, “Snooty girl.”

Connelly sighed and Mathias said, “Alister, that’s enough.” Alister glanced at him and then the floor. “I already talked to you about what happened with her yesterday, and am I right that this is about the same girl?”

“Yes,” Amelia answered for them.

“Well, this is becoming more interesting…” He trailed off and for a few minutes was silent. “Tell me about her.”

“Well –” Alister started, but then Mathias cut him a look that quickly silenced him.

“I don’t know.” Connelly shrugged and waved a hand dismissively. “I don’t know her.”

“Then why has she already had the same effect on two of us?” He looked between them and shook his head. “No, there is something here and we need to take care of it.”

Alister and Ivan looked over at Connelly and he noticed this. “Connelly?”

Sighing, Connelly paused for a minute before admitting, “I don’t know… what it is. There’s something different about her. Then this morning, we shook hands and it was like a shock went through me. I felt threatened and … it put me on edge and I freaked out. Then when we danced, when I got close to her, I felt it again.”

“Threatened?”

Connelly shook his head. “I don’t know why or how I felt it but I did. I think that’s why I started acting like that. When I get close to her, or touch her.”

Mathias mused this over and then glanced at Alister. “Did you feel the same thing?”

“Not really, but I was already so mad anyway,” he shrugged.

While Mathias massaged his goatee, Ivan looked at Connelly knowingly. He knew he hadn’t told the whole truth, but for some reason he couldn’t convince himself to say it. In the back of his mind he knew he was an idiot for not saying anything and something dangerous might come out of this, but at the same time if he could just figure out what was so different about her he could fix it.

“Well,” Amelia spoke up, “Whatever it is going on between you, it needs to be fixed. We can’t be having these kinds of outbursts in public. It’s dangerous.” She sent a stern look from Alister to Connelly. “But whether you tell us everything or not, you will fix this.”

Your thoughts?

