Happy Birthday!!!

Like the new look I dressed my site in? Ha ha, it’s a little late, but I finally decided I should be festive.

For Halloween my fiance wanted to take me to Fright Fest at Six Flags, but upon looking online for tickets, we gasped.

$60! Per person!

That is absolutely outrageous! Who do they think they are, having prices like that? Now, I understand having to be able to pay for all the equipment, but really, don’t you think they would make more money if they lowered the price? It would attract more people, wouldn’t it? Maybe they know something I don’t, but it just seems like simple logic to me.

Anyhow, it is my birthday. I’m twenty, thank you, thank you, (bows and curtsies dramatically). Yep, the big 2-0. I can’t believe it. It feels odd, like everything is the same yet something is different. I’m no longer a teenager. It makes me want to stand up straighter and say bigger words, like unscrupulous, cumbersome, and methodological. I should also throw in some others like income taxes, IRS, mortgage, and debt as well.

My mother told me she can still remember when she was pregnant with me. She was still a little nervous when she got in the car with my dad, and she said, “Honey, slow down!”

He said, “I’m going as fast as I can!”

Any-hoo, I’m getting off-subject. So, today my mother made a beautiful cherry cheesecake for me, from scratch, and then we went off to the city for some shopping! Woohoo! I was super excited because I haven’t been shopping to get new clothes in a loooooong time. We hit The Body Shop, JCPenney, and this new store I don’t remember how to spell that starts with an L’ P-something. I want to say L’ Pinata but I know that’s not it. We stopped at Taco Bell for some delicious burritos (I can’t help it, I grew up loving this stuff), Walmart where I got The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, and then a Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks.

We hit the sales and now I not only have a lot of beautiful things, but I have money left over too! I’m going to spend it on some craft things like Bernat Boa yarn (it’s that fuzzy yarn) to make a Christmas scarf, and some molding clay for another, special project I will tell you more about at a later date.

Now, about The Raven Boys, I initially got this for my fiance, but I know I’ll find myself nose-deep in its pages before too long. Don’t worry, I’ll tell you how it is.

P.S. If you haven’t tried Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, you are seriously missing out. AMAZING!

Ok I’m done now… it was a good first day being twenty. A good start.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!!!

  1. Michelle Proulx says:

    Pumpkin spice lattes are DELICIOUS. And I totally agree about the $60 theme park ticket thing. Yeesh. But I think all theme parks are going that way – I know Universal Studios in Florida was about $80 for a day ticket. Craziness. And yet I paid, because I wanted to go see Harry Potter world. The trick, I believe, is to buy the season’s pass. It usually costs about half again the price of a day ticket, and you can use it all year. But most people just go for one day, so they never think about that sort of thing.

    Like

    • Sabrina Baxley says:

      I agree. My fiance and I are actually going to the Harry Potter World for our honeymoon. I know, how romantic, right? But hey, we’re nerds. Doing it that way is pretty much the way I can justify spending that much on tickets.

      Like

Your thoughts?

