So You Think You Can Dance? p5

“Sure, okay. Like what?”

“Well I was thinking of something like double date.”

As soon as the words left her mouth, I shook my head. “We’re just friends,” I said, trying not to clench my teeth as I spoke. It was hard enough trying to resist him without everyone talking about it or trying to push me into it. I thought.

“Okay, okay, I’m sorry,” she said. “Do you want to hear about the date?” I nodded and she smiled. “It was great. He took me to this awesome Mexican food restaurant that had a dance floor. We danced the Salsa and Tango while we waited for our food, and then after we ate we went to this club that played swing music. It was amazing! Everyone was dressed in the forties style and they had live bands too! And since the swing is what Mrs. Peters gave us for the first competition, Ivan said that’s where we could practice at.”

“That sounds awesome,” I said, sipping some more. “So, did he give a reason why he doesn’t want you going to his house to practice like Connelly and I do?”

“He said because of Alister and Mira, and because if we go to that dance club we won’t have to worry about waiting if someone else wants to play non-swing music. That, and it’s more fun because there are tons of other people dancing there and we could pick up some more tricks.” She smiled and took another bite of her brownie. “This is amazing, by the way.”

“I know, my cinnamon roll is the best I’ve ever tasted,” I agreed.

“Aren’t you glad I wanted to meet here?” She looked around as she spoke.

“I wanted to come anyway. This could be a great new hang-out.”

“For the guys?” She winced, “I don’t think so.”

“Yeah,” I had to agree. “I’m not sure they’re really the coffee shop/bookstore type.”

“They would probably like that club though. It plays swing music on Wednesdays and Thursdays, but the rest of the time it plays regular music. It’s called ‘The Mash’.”

“Hmm…” I considered it. “We’ll have to go there sometime. It sounds cool. But back to the date, what happened after all that?”

“What do you mean?” she asked, but I knew she knew what I was talking about. I puckered my lips and raised my eyebrows twice. She blushed and laughed. “Oh, that.”

“Yeah, that.”

I waited for her to answer, and after she glanced away for a minute, she gave in. “Oh alright… There might have been, a little, peck on the cheek.”

“No lips?” I asked.

She paused again, then added, “A little on the lips too.”

I smiled proudly and took another sip of my cappuccino. “I knew it. I knew it as soon as I saw you.”

“What? How?”

“You couldn’t be that ecstatic and glowing just from getting a car. It was all over your face.” I laughed and then added, “Your eyes were so big they looked almost anime.”

“Oh, shut up!” She laughed at that.

“I’m glad he seems to like you as much as you like him” I said and we both nodded.

“Me too. He’s so sweet, and we’re alike in so many ways. I’ve never met anyone like him.”

“They are definitely different,” I agreed, my mind going back to Connelly, and against my better judgment I started thinking of us on a date. In my mind, it looked nice, very nice, but it would be going too fast if it happened now. Wouldn’t it?

“So, is there a reason you’re dragging your feet?” her words brought me back to the present and I looked over to see her watching me.

“On what?” I asked, but she cocked an eyebrow. I sighed. “I’m not dragging my feet, I’m, waiting for the right moment.” She gave me a shrewd look. “It’s too soon! We just got over pretty much hating each other –”

“Almost a month ago!” she interrupted.

“It’s been three weeks.”

“Which is almost a month.” She widened her eyes at me in a way that said ‘duh’. “Come on, Kota –”

“No! Yeah, so it’s been three weeks. What, are we supposed to make up by going on a date? I don’t know how many times I have to say it.”

“As many times as it takes for you to realize, or accept, the fact that you are good together. You are both interested in each other and should just give it a chance.”

“Sue, look, I’m happy for you and Ivan, I really am, and I know that you want me to be happy to, but it’s too soon for us. We didn’t start out like you two, you liked each other from the beginning and didn’t have any trouble. Me and Connelly started with it. I want to get to know him a little more first, start as friends.”

“To make sure he doesn’t flip out on you once you’re together?” The corner of her mouth turned up in a smile.

“Exactly.” She laughed. “A girl’s gotta protect herself.”

“At least think about it – come with us as friends!” she said like she’d come up with it mid-sentence. “It can be a date for just me and Ivan.”

“Are you sure Ivan is okay with you inviting people to your date without telling him?” I cocked one eyebrow and looked sideways at her.

“He already knows and he’s fine with it. It’ll be fun, come on!”

How do you know Connelly would even want to –?”

“Ivan already asked him and he said he would do it if you would.”

“Do what, exactly? A double date as in we’re on a date? Or you are on a date and we are just friends hanging out?”

She thought about it for a second and then said, “I don’t know actually.” She laughed. “But see? I told you he liked you! He wants to go on a date with you!” She sang the last part.

I rolled my eyes. “Oh my gosh,” I sighed. Okay fine I’ll do it, but as long as we’re friends. It’s going too fast.”

“You mean you won’t do it if he does want it to be a date?” She looked partly confused and partly sad.

I blinked my eyes several times. I can’t believe this. “I guess, if he wants it to be a date, then it will be. But don’t go pushing it on him!” I said the last part quickly because she started getting super excited again. She sat there, trying to contain it, and nodded. After a minute I said, “You can breathe now.”

She exhaled. “This is gonna be awesome!”

“Okay, so what are we doing anyway?” I crossed my legs and glanced out the window as people walked the streets, dressed like Eskimos.

“I was thinking about going to see a movie and then get some dinner, but I don’t know what to do before then… mall?”

I shook my head. “I think dinner and a movie is fine.”

“What’s wrong?” she asked, because my brow was furrowed.

“I haven’t been spending very much time with the boys here lately, aside from the usual at school. If I’m not working I’m practicing at Connelly’s, you know? I’m starting to miss them. Ever since this dance thing started we haven’t spent as much time together.”

“Okay, well what are you all going to do?”

“I don’t know, maybe nothing. You wanna come?”

“Nah, I think I’m gonna spend some more time with Ivan before tonight. I’ll call later on and –”

“Sue, come on.” I gave her a look. “You’ll have all night to spend with him. Don’t you miss the guys?”

“Yeah, but –” she started, and then sighed. “Okay, I guess you’re right. What are you doing?”

I smiled. “Okay, well, I know it’s not your thing, but I was just thinking that we could go hunting?”

Sue winced. “Kota, you know I don’t know how to hunt.”

“You know how to shoot a gun, and hunting is easy.” I waved a dismissive hand. “Look, how about this. I’ll let you be on my team, okay? That way I can show you the ropes, what do you say?”

She hesitated and I almost thought she was still going to turn me down, but then, “Fine, fine, okay.”

“Awesome! Okay, let’s go,” I said, and we started re-applying our coats and scarves.

“Thank you for coming!” Cadence called as we started to leave. “Come back soon!”

“You can count on it!” Sue called back.

Then I added, “Your food is amazing!”

“Thank you.” She laughed and we left the store, thrusting our now gloved hands in our pockets as we made our way to our vehicles.

“That really is a cute car,” I said as I opened my door.

“Thanks. I’m so happy,” she said as she opened hers as well and threw her purse in.

“Okay, follow me to my house so I can get you my other cameo outfit, and my other gun. Then we can head over there,” I said as I climbed in my car.

“How do you even know if they’re home?” she asked.

“I’ll text Dale when we get to my house.” We both nodded and left the little shop.

As Sue tried on my pants to make sure they fit, I texted Dale.

Me: Hey, you home?

Dale: Yeah why

Me: Can I come over?

Dale: Why? Bored with your boyfriend already?

Louis: Glad you remembered us finally

Me: He’s NOT MY BOYFRIEND!!!!! Do you want me to come over or not? It’s me and Sue

Dale: Not if you’re going to be acting like a baby

Dale: It’s not that time of the month is it? O.o

Louis: IS IT???? O.O

Me: Do you really want to mess with me if it is?

Dale: No offense, but I don’t want you over here if it is. Sorry, but I don’t want you getting your crazy girl coodies all over my stuff.

Louis: Can we stop talking about this? It’s starting to gross me out 8-$

Me: Omg. No it’s not that time of the month and yes we can stop talking about it. Can I come over or not!

Dale: yeah come on

“Finally,” I sighed, shaking my head at the phone. “He said yes!”

Your thoughts?

