Post – Thanksgiving… post

Hello again and how has everyone been since Thanksgiving? I know I haven’t been on here in a while, but life sometimes gets busy and in the way. Any who, my fiance and I had three Thanksgivings to go to this year, and just when I thought I had had enough turkey for the rest of my life, my fiance reminded me about the turkey we still had in the freezer. Ugh. So, now that turkey, because we are low on money and need some food to last us, is marinating in a pot with melted butter, salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning.
This is the first year I have ever tried an apple, pumpkin, or cherry pie. I know what you’re thinking “What? She’s twenty years old and hasn’t tasted a fruit pie? Outrageous!” But it’s true. You see, my mother doesn’t like cooked fruit, so she never cooked those pies and because she didn’t like it I was hesitant to try them when we visited family.
Until now. And I can tell you, I wish I would have tried them sooner. WOW! AMAZING!
I am IN LOVE with harvest pies, with apples and cranberries and cinnamon. I am in love with cherry pies and I love love love poppy seed cake! I don’t however, like the taste of pumpkin. I know it’s treason not to, but the consistency is not right for me.
After stuffing ourselves with turkey all day, the next day, we all went out and shot our rifles at the back of the property. I was very happy to try a 30-30 and 12 gauge shotgun, and didn’t even end up with a bruise on my shoulder like my brother-in-law said I would.
All-in-all, it was a very very good Thanksgiving. But I can wait until next year to do it again. Definitely. Unfortunately however, my fiance doesn’t like ham, so guess what? We’re going to be having even more turkey for Christmas! Yay! It’s okay, I’m used to always eating turkey now.
Do you have a new found love for a new Thanksgiving dish? How much did you enjoy your Thanksgiving or Thanksgivings?

Your thoughts?

