Author Interview with Nadia Bashoo

Nadia Bashoo is the writer of such books as The Hand of Destiny series, Sacrifice, and her newest, Wolfsong.

I have been lucky enough to get an interview with her for Wolfsong.

images

Q: So tell me, what inspired you to write Wolfsong?

It came about because of an image I had of a wounded wolf and a girl crouching beside him.

Q: Who are your favorite authors?

I have so many. I love Cassandra Clare, Phillip Pullman, J.K. Rowling and Rick Riordan to name a few.

Q: How long did it take to complete this novel? Were you satisfied with how it turned out?

It took a year to write the first draft, after which were several re-writes. I’m satisfied with how it turned out, but I’m not sure if I’ll write another paranormal romance. Certainly all my other ideas fall into the Fantasy/Adventure categories.

Q: What would you say your writing style is? Do you plan everything out? Do you write mainly on the computer or do you prefer to write long-hand like some other authors do?

I write on the computer. I’m blind and I use a speech software program to write with. I’m terrible at planning. I know how the book begins, ends, and some things in between, but generally I just go where the story takes me.

Q: Who was the first to read your book? What was their reaction?

My closest friend. She loved it, but she may have been a bit biased.

Q: Did you do any research for your story?

No, not for this one.

Q: What was the hardest part of your book to write?

My heroine’s reaction when she learned the truth about the boy she loves. It took ages to get it right.

Q: What do you want your readers to remember about your writing?

that it’s realistic.

Q: What is your worst habit?

checking my emails when I should be writing.

Q: What is the hardest part of writing, for you?

not having a comprehensive plan when I start.

Q: What do you wish you could do better?

I wish I could plan better.

Q: What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?

My Hand of Destiny series. They were the first books I ever wrote and the longest. Oh, and being recently compared to Phillip Pullman.

Q: How far are you on the sequel to this novel, if there is one?

Wolfsong is a stand-alone novel. I am now working on the first of what I hope to be a trilogy set in Camelot.

Everyone please give a round of applause for Nadia! Thank you for the wonderful interview!

Here are some of her links so you can go check her out for yourselves!

nadiabashoo.com

Facebook

Twitter

One thought on “Author Interview with Nadia Bashoo

Your thoughts?

