Movie Review: “Oz the Great and Powerful”

Oz_-_The_Great_and_Powerful_PosterTitle: Oz the Great and Powerful

Directer: Sam Raimi
Writing Credits: Mitchell Kapner (screenplay), David Lindsay- Abaire (screenplay), and L. Frank Baum (“Oz” works)
Length: 130 mins
Release Date: March 8, 2013
Genres: Adventure, Family, and Fantasy
Main Stars: James Franco, Rachel Weisz, Michelle Williams, and Mila Kunis

~IMDB Summary~
Oscar Diggs (James Franco), a small-time circus magician with dubious ethics, is hurled away from dusty Kansas to the vibrant Land of Oz. At first he thinks he’s hit the jackpot-fame and fortune are his for the taking. That all changes, however, when he meets three witches, Theodora (Mila Kunis), Evanora (Rachel Weisz), and Glinda (Michelle Williams), who are not convinced he is the great wizard everyone’s been expecting. Reluctantly drawn into the epic problems facing the Land of Oz and its inhabitants, Oscar must find out who is good and who is evil before it is too late. Putting his magical arts to use through illusion, ingenuity-and even a bit of wizardry-Oscar transforms himself not only into the great and powerful Wizard of Oz but into a better man as well.
~My Review~
Now, in this review I can’t make a comparison between the original and the remake, since I never saw the original. Honestly, I never even knew this was a remake.
It’s kind of hard to write this without giving spoilers, but I will do my best. I don’t really know the story behind Oscar and how he got to “The Land of Oz”. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from watching the previews, but I’m happy to say I was pleasantly surprised. Mila Kunis played her role perfectly, even though I never would’ve pictured her for it, and I was happy to see Rachel Weisz too since I haven’t seen her in anything in a while. It’s a nice prequel to The Wizard of Oz, with the right mix of humor, action, and adventure, but not enough that it overwhelms the child-oriented theme. This movie is great for all ages, and of course great for family. I love how they didn’t try to overdo the drama and make everything more serious and grown-up. Keep it kid-friendly, like it’s supposed to be.
I give this four stars. I was not paid to do this review. All of my reviews are purely honest and of my own opinion.
4 stars 2
If you like this review, stay tuned for other reviews of books, more movies, video games, and anything else I decide to do in the future!
~ Mrs. Giles
Your thoughts?

