Menu/Military Mondays: Sesame Chicken

Now, before I moved in with my husband (boyfriend then) I had never had Chinese food. Yes, I ate rice, but that’s not really specific to Chinese food because there are all kinds of rice dishes that come from other countries. However, pretty much as soon as I moved in and they found out I’d never had Chinese, they immediately pulled into a China Panda Buffet or something like that.
My world was completely changed that day, and I am now totally addicted. Chicken fried rice, those noodles they have, orange chicken, sweet ‘n sour chicken, that beef-on-a-stick stuff, it’s so awesome! I decided today to post a recipe on some awesome Chinese food because I’ve been living back with my family since my husband went to Air Force BMT and everyone but my mother hates it.
Soooo…. yeah, you could say I’m going through withdrawals.
Today, on the menu is Sesame Chicken, and here for your enjoyment and my torture, is the recipe for this wonderful dish.
951782
Prep Time: 30 mins
Cook Time: 20 mins
Ready in: 50 mins

What you’ll need:                               2 tbsp toasted sesame seeds
2 tbsp soy sauce                                 1 qt vegetable oil for frying
1 tbsp dry sherry                               1/2 c water
1 dash sesame oil                               1 c chicken broth
2 tbsp all-purpose flour                  1/4 c cornstarch
2 tbsp cornstarch                              1 c white sugar
2 tbsp water                                         2 tbsp soy sauce
1/4 tsp baking powder                    2 tbsp sesame oil
1/4 tsp baking soda                          1 tsp red chile paste (like Thai Kitchen)
1 tsp canola oil                                   1 clove garlic, minced
4 (5oz) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into 1-inch cubes

Cooking Directions:
1. Combine the 2 tbsp soy sauce, dry sherry, dash of sesame oil, flour, 2 tbsp cornstarch, 2 tbsp water, baking powder, baking soda, and canola oil in a large bowl. Mix well; stir in the chicken. Cover and refrigerate for 20 minutes.
2. Heat oil in a deep-fryer or large saucepan to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
3. Combine the 1/2 c water, chicken broth, vinegar, 1/4 c cornstarch, sugar, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp sesame oil, red chile paste, and garlic in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Turn heat to low and keep warm, stirring occasionally.
4. Fry the marinated chicken in batches until cooked through and golden brown, 3-5 minutes. Drain on paper towels.
5. Transfer the chicken to a large platter, top with sauce, and sprinkle with sesame seeds.
I hope you enjoy this, because I know I wish I could haha. I don’t have anything on military today, but only because I’m saving that for my tirade tomorrow.
~ Mrs. Airman

Your thoughts?

