Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

The-Selection-book-cover-the-selection-series-30384525-400-604Title: The Selection

Series: The Selection series (bk 1)

Author: Kiera Cass

Cover Designer: Gustavo Marx/ Mergeleft Reps, Inc.

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: April 24, 2012

Page Count: 327

 

~Goodreeds Summary~

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

 

 

~My Review~

First thing I want to say – I read this in a day – so I assume you know where this review is going. I’m not going to go through and tell you my version of the summary for this book, because personally I find it annoying since there is already a perfectly good summary up above. So, I’ll just get right to the point. The first thing that caught my eye was of course the cover. I absolutely love it. The dress is beautiful, the girl posed perfectly (and I love the hair!), I like the way the cover designer went with the mirrored effect, and I love the font too. So far a win for me.

There was a while there where I was incredibly sick of romance novels, be they general fiction or supernatural of any kind. It must have been the books I had the misfortune to be reading, because they were all the same it seemed. And that’s why I like this one. Just like America Singer, this romance novel stands out from the crowd around it. I guess I like complicated, complex, romances, and baby this is definitely complicated. First forbidden love and then -bleep-bleep-BLEEP ?! (Spoilers have been cut from this review for the safety of your enjoyment later.) Love it!

This story is set in the future, where there is no longer a United States, and there’s a scene where the history of how the U.S. came to be the kingdom of Illéa came to be. It’s so detailed and I think I enjoyed even just that one part as much as I did because in a way I could see it actually happening. Even the caste system is interesting to me, because I’ve always been fascinated by caste systems, and I love how this one competition is a way to not only give hope to people in the lower castes but also give America the chance to realize that not all things about the higher castes are bad. Not everyone is on the inside what they appear to be on the outside.

I give this book:

5 stars 2

I very much enjoyed this story and can’t wait to get the next installment, the whole series! Thank you Kiera Cass for allowing us all a peek into your wonderful world of storytelling.

Until next time!

~ Sabrina Giles -_^

 

Your thoughts?

