Blogging Woes… Then Revelation!!!

What to blog about when you have no life…
Well, I guess that’s really misleading, because I do have a life, a great one in fact. I’m a stay-at-home wife whose husband is not only kick-ass in general, but also a Weatherman in the U.S. Air Force. We have a Boxer named Hera, a crazy Maine Coon kitten named Grim (nickname: Gremlin), and we’re also expecting our first child.
See? A great life! The only problem is that I’m stuck on what to talk about with you guys. Normally, I would be talking about my next book and how it’s almost out, etc. Basically, the same things you usually see on author’s sites/blogs, but unfortunately I’m not nearly close enough to finishing my second book to be talking about it. That would just be torturous teasing and would get real old real quick.
I’ve just gotten over a year-long case of extreme writer‘s block/depression because my book didn’t explode like I naively expected. Then my husband left for BMT Jan 22nd, we got married Mar 22nd on his graduation weekend, and then I didn’t see him again until Oct 24 when he finally got to come home for two weeks. That’s nine months out of twelve without my other half, not to mention what all I was going through on top of him being gone.
Back to present day, I’m ecstatic to have Hubs back, to be pregnant, and to be in our own place. Everything is going so nice and smoothly now, but what is still causing me problems is that last year royally messed me up in terms of how I thought things would go after my book was released. I was supposed to have been still writing on ED2 and      
Ya’ll don’t want to hear about this, I know you don’t. And who would? No one likes a sob story where people are just feeling sad for themselves, so I’m going to stop ’cause I’m starting to annoy myself. Haha.
Instead, I’m gonna expand on the thought that just smacked me in the forehead. So what do I blog about when I don’t really have anything to say? Nothing, if I don’t want to. What do I blog about when I don’t think I have anything to blog about? Whatever the hell I want to!
I came into this thinking I was supposed to do this or that to make an impression on people and gain followers, get likes, etc.  but I was wrong! I don’t have to write only about the writing world, because no one wants to know about that except other writers/aspiring writers. What I do mostly is watch what other more popular/established authors blog about, which is mostly about their books and I understand why. I would do the same thing if I had a lot of publishing stuff going on around the same time, because it’s what the people want to know and it’s what they expect when they get that notification in their inbox.
For me though? Someone between her first books and not at all close to publishing yet? Well, the ball’s in my court and the world is wide open. I’m going to stop trying to be what I think everyone wants me to be, expects me to be because I’m a writer, and just be what I expect me to be…. which is just me.
And who am I? Well, you’ll soon see.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Blogging Woes… Then Revelation!!!

Your thoughts?

