Review: Illumine by Alivia Anders

Illumine By Alivia AndersTitle: Illumine

Series: The Illumine Series #1

Author: Alivia Anders

Release Date: 1/7/2012

Publisher: Alivia Anders

Pages: 300

Genre: YA Paranormal/Fantasy (top genre listed by users on Goodreads)

~Summary~

For the past five months Essallie Hanley has been trying to forget about the frightening murder of her boyfriend. Haunted by vivid nightmares and hallucinations of the event she does anything she can to pretend she’s like every other normal girl in High School.

Only Essallie is far from normal. Able to conjure blue fire and a shimmering silhouette of wings from her body, she seeks the only known solace left to her name; her first home in Belfast, Maine.

But she soon realizes that her return home is only the beginning of a long and twisted road taking her as far from her humanity as possible, with Kayden, the demon originally summoned to slaughter her, leading the way. Unable to touch her but oddly curious, he joins Essallie in her search to find out just what she is. But neither of them were prepared for the secrets they’ve begun to unravel, secrets that will change Essallie and everyone around her forever.

~My Review~

I’ve been wanting to read this book for some time now, so this review is long overdue. I have to say that right off the bat, I really like how the character names in Illumine are different. Not only that, but I enjoyed the pace of the book as well, and it seems like Essie just never gets a break! I’m sorry to say, but it doesn’t look like she’s going to get one in the second installment either. The pace of the book is so steady throughout, that I was surprised when I actually reached the end because I thought it was just going to keep going, but surprise! Now I have to get the next book :). There’s actually a snippet of the next book in the series, Obrumbrate, in the very back of the book, as well as a little peek into the world of Alivia’s new series “The Black Symphony Saga”. I won’t put any spoilers here, but I’m very excited to see where Alivia takes The Illumine Series!

I have to say one more thing before I go on to rating this book, and it’s that I am very interested in Essallie and Kayden’s relationship. I personally like Kayden and his smart-ass, sarcastic attitude. Aside from him being a demon and all, I can totally see — Well, again, no spoilers. 😉

I very much liked all the creatures used in here too, including the succubus, which you don’t see too often.

The only thing I would say bumped Illumine’s rating down from 5 stars was the fact that I felt there were a few scenes here and there that could’ve used a tad more description as I found it difficult to clearly picture the characters’ surroundings, but that may be just me.

4.5 Stars!!!

Links

Amazon

Goodreads

Alivia Anders Facebook Page

Alivia Anders Blog

Your thoughts?

