Bit of a Rant…

Again I have failed to post something on here that’s not a cover reveal or promotional post of another author’s work. I’m sorry, I really am. I really suck at blogging, and to be completely honest, I am kind of hating it right now. There are so many things you have to do to be successful, and all at once too. You have to be present on social media, make connections with people, blog about interesting things, create enough content consistently to get dedicated followers, also spare enough time to write the dang product in the first place (not to mention all the edits, etc.), read and review a ton of books, keep the house clean, make meals, and spend time with family. Okay, now did I miss anything? Oh yeah, sleep… Just where does that fit in there?

Most people will tell you that you have to sacrifice something, and that’s where my problem lies, because most people will say they sacrifice time with family to write, and I’m sorry but I’m not doing that. I have a daughter about to turn 1 year old, and a husband that’s only home for a few hours before we both hit the hay at 9:30. I get up a 4, and I know what you’re thinking, “Okay, so you get up a 4, and your daughter gets up at 8 (sometimes 7:30), so what’s the problem here? Why can’t you get what you need done?” That’s an excellent question!

Because I don’t know what to freakin’ write on here! I know I’m supposed to be myself, but just how much ‘myself’ am I supposed to be? I don’t want to get too personal, and let’s be honest, if you’ve been following me for a while I assume you’ve gathered that I’m not really that good about being an online presence on any of my platforms except Facebook. You would be correct, and the only reason I’m on facebook is because I have family and friends on facebook. I don’t know anyone on any of these other platforms that I actually ever talk to or know. At all.

I’m more of a face-to-face kind of person, so maybe that’s the heart of my problem. So, that would make me an extrovert, right? I’ve read that introverts thrive online because they can be themselves without ever really meeting someone. That makes perfect sense, because they’re scared of face-to-face interactions.

So here’s my question. How do I (an extrovert) thrive online? I love writing, the entire process of it, and I can talk until I’m blue in the face, but online it’s like the cat’s got my tongue, and my mind just goes blank. I know I can’t be the only one out there with this same problem, but I can’t seem to find anyone and I’ve looked. I’ve had people tell me to go to conferences and meet-ups with other writers, and that’s great advice, I’m looking into it, but it doesn’t answer my question. How do I overcome this or make this work in my favor? How do I get good at this confusing, frustrating, thing you call social media interaction?

If you have any advice, tips, anything really, talk to me below!

~Sabrina

4 thoughts on “Bit of a Rant…

  1. Kaitlyn W. says:

    Not sure if this will help or not, but try writing in a diary. Write your thoughts, little notes on story plots, anything really. And take out the parts you think are too personal. Again I’m not sure if this will help or not, but I figured it was worth suggesting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sabrina Giles says:

      Thanks Kaitlyn 🙂 I will give this a try. It may be that things have been a little hectic and stressful for a long while now, but I’m sure everyone’s life gets that way too and they can still do what they do. I’m not sure if I’m whining or not ha-ha.

      Like

  2. Kaitlyn W. says:

    Life is never an easy task (Especially with misbehaving pets 😛 haha) But it’s the little moments that make it all worth it. And sometimes letting out can be the best medicine you can get 🙂 By the way I love your new blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sabrina Giles says:

      Thanks! I’m still working on a really good name for the blog other than just my name. And Fabled Media Co sounds more like a business than a blog about research, books, and art. I’ll probably either go back to Read, Write, Sketch or something else more awesome.

      Like

Your thoughts?

