Book Blitz: Unexpected by Lilly Avalon

8VlDIfCfyrqGH8AQ3qdZPQJoZgW7XcCl1mnLSJpEzg0,kcuaufTldREqjtG4LQTeW17TkThYgg97TiacT3YT6JIUnexpected

by Lilly Avalon

Release Date: 07/21/15

New Adult/Standalone

Summary from Goodreads:

Ever had one of those days? Alina Lyons is having one. Everything keeps falling apart and going

wrong. Just when she thinks it couldn’t get worse, it does. After a case of mistaken identity and a

broken heart, she finds herself questioning the things she thought she knew. She wonders who

she can turn to or trust anymore.

An unlikely bond with her former best friend’s ex, Ryan Wilcox, sends her life in a new direction.

He offers her a place to stay while she gets her life back on track. His friendship is exactly what

she’s been missing—what she’s been needing. Alina’s never felt this alive. As time goes by, the

dynamic of their relationship becomes more than either of them expected. A few innocent kisses

could lead them in a new direction, but are they prepared for what’s on the other side?

Only one way to find out.

Unexpected is a standalone new adult novel

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Unexpected-Lilly-Avalon-ebook/dp/B010J38DHY/

Amazon CA:

Amazon UK:

B&N:

avalon/1122259890?ean=2940152014136

iBooks:

Smashwords:

PLEASE ADD ONE OF THE FOLLOWING EXCERPTS TO YOUR POST 

Excerpt #1

After saying goodbye to her mother, Alina and I get in our cars and drive back to my apartment.

I stop at the taco place on the way and bring back a dozen tacos. When we get inside, Alina takes

one look at them and says, “Good Lord, Mr. Hungry. How many are you planning on eating?”

“However many you don’t eat,” I answer with a grin.

She rolls her eyes. “Typical.” She places two on her plate. “Don’t think this means you get to

have the other ten. I might have one more.”

“I’ll save it for you.” We take our food to the living room and sit on the couch. I turn on the TV.

“Anything you want to watch? I have basic cable, but I’m sure we could find something.”

She shrugs. “Doesn’t really matter to me.”

I scroll until I find a Nash Bridges rerun. I raise an eyebrow at her and she nods, so I leave it and

start eating. At the first commercial break, I hit the mute button and turn to her. “So…if we’re

going to be friends, we need to know a little more about each other.”

“Like what?”

“Well, I know your name is Alina Lyons. And you used to work at a diner. And you were friends

with Victoria since senior year in high school. But I don’t really know anything else.”

“So, are we going to play twenty questions?” she asks, a smirk playing across her lips.

I make a funny face at her and smile. “No. Let’s just go over some of the basics.”

She wipes her mouth with a napkin and sets down her plate on the coffee table. “Okay, I’ll bite.

What kind of basics?”

“Okay, so Nash Bridges—better or worse than Miami Vice?”

She giggles. “Well, they both have Don Johnson, so that alone makes them tied. I am partial to

Nash Bridges, though. I used to watch it with my dad and brother growing up.”

Interesting. A girl near my age who actually knows about sitcoms from the eighties and nineties.

I can’t remember the last time I was able to talk to someone outside my family who’s familiar

with shows that didn’t premiere in their teenage years. Most of my peers were more interested in

the latest X-Men movie or who was voted off last night on American Idol. Not that I didn’t care

about “teenager” things, I just had a broader spectrum of taste. “Well played…but,” I say,

pausing to hold up a finger, “you forgot to mention Yasmine Bleeth.”

“I didn’t forget. I’m surprised that part matters to you when she doesn’t run in slow motion in a

red bathing suit on Nash Bridges.”

Not to mention a girl who’s cheeky to boot by referencing Baywatch. “She doesn’t have to. That’s

the beauty of it.” I wink and she laughs, shaking her head and covering her face. “You know

what, Alina?”

“What?” she asks, peeking through her fingers.

“I think I’m going to like being friends with you.”

Excerpt #2

Saturday is a short day at work because it starts raining in the afternoon. It throws a damper on

the remainder of the work that needs to be done, so the supervisor tells us to head out and we can

pick back up next week. It makes me happy because it has been a long week, not just work-wise,

but also with everything else happening. I’m grateful for a chance to get caught up on other

things.

When I get back to the apartment, Alina is curled up on the couch reading a book again. She’s

wearing those reading glasses, and looking sexy as f***. She’s gorgeous already, but there’s

something about those glasses that makes her extremely sexy. I haven’t quite pinned down what

it is yet, but I seriously have to figure it out soon before I go crazy.

She peeks up at me and grins. “You’re home early!”

Her enthusiasm is unparalleled and pleases me more than I can admit. “It’s raining. It wouldn’t be

so bad if it was drizzling, but it’s actually coming down pretty good.” I sit down on the couch

next to her, and reach for her book. “So, what are you reading?”

She pulls the book away before I can grab it. “It’s a romance.”

“Ah. What kind of romance?” I reach again and this time get a hold of it. She gasps and tries to

get it back, but I stand up and look at it. “There appears to be a half-naked couple on the cover.”

“Give it back!”

“I want to look at it.” She groans in frustration and presses a hand to her forehead. I continue to

look it over. “I think this is more than just a kissing book.”

I hand it back to her and she snatches it from me, tucking it away. “And?” she asks with an

eyebrow raised.

“And nothing. I was just curious, that’s all.” I tilt my head. “Are you going to keep reading?”

“Not if you’re going to hover.”

“Then you’d better take off those glasses.”

She scrunches her nose. “Why?”

I kneel down next to her by the couch. Leaning into her, I say, “Because they are impossibly

sexy and I’m half tempted to kiss you if they’re still on ten seconds from now.”

Her eyes widen like saucers. “What?”

“I’m serious,” I murmur, inching closer. “I will kiss you in a few seconds if you don’t take them

off.”

Her mouth parts, but she makes no move to reach for them. I watch as her chest rises and falls,

the nervous anticipation building in her. I’m mere inches away, so close to stealing a kiss. Just as

I’m about to make good on my promise, she pulls them off swiftly.

I let out a breath, holding back my disappointment. “Well, that was close.”

Excerpt #3

As we sit here quietly, the only sound we hear is the squeak of the swing as it rocks back and

forth. I’m about to tell him we should go back inside when he asks, “Why don’t you cry?”

His question shouldn’t surprise me, because it’s one thing people often wonder. I shrug. “No

point in bothering. My life always spins back around where it was. A guy comes in, somehow

sweeps me off my feet to the point where I have zero rational thought, he crushes me, I dust

myself off, and move on to the next one.”

He stops the swing, turning to me. “Wait, you think that’s normal?”

“It is for me. Circle of life.”

His forehead wrinkles. “What the hell, Alina? Don’t you have any self worth?”

“Why do you think I stopped caring? Because if I did I would hurt. I’m protecting myself.”

“You’re cutting yourself off, that’s what you’re doing.”

My head flinches back. “Huh?”

“Don’t you get it?” He reaches for my hand, holding it between both of his. “You’re distancing

yourself from opening up to love because you have grown to expect something bad to happen.”

“That’s what always happens, though!”

“Not every story ends the same. Some of them have a twist. Some things in life are unexpected.

Some things like love.”

I close my eyes for a couple seconds, then whisper, “But what if I fall in love and he’s not there

to catch me?”

“You try again. And again. And again. Until he does.”

“What if he doesn’t?”

“Trust me Alina, he will.”

“How do you know?”

“Because he’s a fool if he doesn’t.”

Excerpt #4

An hour and a half later, our set is over. Even though I love performing, the anxiety from being

onstage can really drain me. I always breathe a sigh of relief the second I get back on level

ground. Once I get a beer in me, I’ll feel even more relaxed.

I head over to the bar expecting to see Alina sitting in the same spot she’s occupied the whole

night, but she’s not there. I frown, but signal a bartender and ask him to bring me a beer. I scan

the room, hoping she’s nearby.

As soon as I have my hands on the beer, I’m about to stand to go back to Phil and Brent when a

couple of girls block me. “Hi there,” I say with a smile.

The girl on the right says, “You were amazing up there.”

“Yeah, you guys have a wonderful sound,” the other one chimes in.

“Well, thank you.”

“Can we buy you a drink?” the first girl asks, giving me the hopeful head tilt.

Before I can respond, Alina shows up at my side holding a drink. “Hey sweetness,” she says,

leaning in to press a kiss to my lips. I don’t even miss a beat. Parting my lips just enough to make

it look like a real kiss, I cup her cheek with my free hand. She pulls back with a contented smile.

“You wanna grab a booth?”

“Of course,” I respond as I stand up. “Excuse me, ladies. My girl and I have something to

celebrate tonight.”

The girls glance at each other, then watch with blank expressions as I lead Alina with a hand on

the small of her back over to the last empty booth. I whisper into her ear, “Nice save. It’s a

burden to be the only straight man in the band.”

She lets out a snort as she slides into the booth. “Oh please. It’s such a burden when girls are

falling at your feet.”

“It is when you’re not interested in any of them.” And the one you want is only pretending to be

your girlfriend.

Excerpt #5

An idea hits me suddenly and I immediately get to work on it. It involves a quick run to the store,

but I manage to make it back just before she does. When she walks inside, she gives me a funny

look. “What’s going on?” she asks.

I set down the last of the supplies on the living room floor. “Ever build a blanket fort before?”

She grins. “I’ve built a couch cushion fort, but not a blanket fort.”

Alina and I get the chairs from the kitchen table, setting them up in a square. We each take one

side of my largest blanket and pull it over the chairs. After about fifteen minutes, the blanket fort

is nearly complete.

“Now all we need to do is fix this end so we can see the TV still,” I tell her.

She taps a finger to her chin as she takes a quick glance around the room. She brightens, holding

her finger up. “How about this,” she says, grabbing one of the extra throw blankets. “Let’s tuck

this blanket in under the top blanket, then find a way to hold it in place on top of your

entertainment center.”

“That could work.”

It takes a few minutes of tampering and reworking the rest of the fort, but we manage to get the

last blanket in. As we’re kneeling under it, one corner begins to sag. We both reach for it at the

same time, and seconds later, the opposite corner begins to sag too. Before either of us can turn

to fix that one, the whole thing tumbles down on us. We are tangled in the blanket, Alina

giggling while I chuckle. She holds onto me as we both collapse on the floor. There’s nothing

else we can do since the whole thing is falling over around us.

Our faces are touching now, cheek to cheek. I move my lips along her jaw. Glancing down at her

lips then up into her eyes, I ask, “Do you want me to kiss you?”

She shakes her head. I frown, but before I can ask her why, she whispers, “I need you to kiss

me.”

With those words, she melts me. I cup her face and kiss her, delicately, gently. A tentative sweep

of my tongue over her parted lips and she responds by teasing me with her tongue. We kiss like

that, careful, languid, for I don’t know how long. All I remember is the sweetness of her lips, the

taste of her tongue, and I wonder how I’ve gone this long in my life without this.

Without her.

About the Author

Lilly Avalon is the author of the RESIST series as well as other erotic romances. She’s

somewhere in the midst of her twenties and lives mostly in the stories in her head. When she’s

not enveloped in the worlds she creates, she’s out in the real world making stories happen. That

or reading other romances. It’s a toss-up.

Author Links:

Website│Goodreads│Twitter│Facebook

GIVEAWAY:

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2348b9db529/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”

data-raflid=”2348b9db529″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_mzef6gvv”>a

Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Or:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-

code/MjM0OGI5ZGJmNWUwNzllYTYzNjAyYzhhZGU0MDc0OjUyOQ==/?

Book Blitz Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours

Your thoughts?

