Interview with Lindsey Sablowski About Her New Book Release!

Due to some surprising news, which I will be sharing with you all later, I accidentally forgot to post this interview with Linsdey about the release of the final book in her series The Magician‘s series. Thankfully, I’m only one day late. 🙂 Let’s get on to the interview!
****
So tell me, what inspired you to write The Bloodline Inheritance? The Magicians Series?
I fell in love with the idea behind the Magicians series in the summer of 2010. It started out with an idea and a name, Celestria Hale -who ended up being the main character in Cursed With Power. I wanted to write a new type of fantasy series -one that would change our perspective on “good vs. evil.” What if the “evil” characters weren’t actually evil? What if those treated as heroes were actually villains? 
Bloodline Inheritance is the ending to the series. I felt inspired to write about Dyanna’s story because unlike the other Dark magicians in the series, she wants to escape from magic.
Who are your favorite authors?
John Green, Michael J Sullivan, Tamora Pierce, Philippa Gregory
How long did it take to complete this novel? Were you satisfied with how it turned out?
I started writing Bloodline Inheritance immediately after Thicker Than Blood‘s release on July 31, 2014. I “finished” Bloodline Inheritance in November 2014 as my NaNoWriMo project, but I continued to add to it and revise it until May. By May and June I formatted and prepared the book for publication. I’m extremely happy with how the book turned out. At times it wasn’t easy, especially with knowing this will end the series, but it was a great experience. I think this book does just to the ending of the series.
What would you say your writing style is? Do you plan everything out? Do you write mainly on the computer or do you prefer to write long-hand like some other authors do?
I would say it depends on the book and my mood. With CWP I barely did any planning until I rewrote the book for the third time. For my later books I planned a lot more carefully, especially since this series required so much memory of what happened previously before. I usually don’t like to plan out anything in great detail, but if I’m facing writer’s block sometimes I’ll go more in depth.
Who was the first to read your book? What was their reaction?
Probably the first people to read my books were my parents, but I felt they were very bias. The most important ones who read my book were the writers on Inkpop -that was back when I had Cursed With Power online to read for free. These people were strangers to me, but their honest feedback meant the world.
Did you do any research for your story?
Oh yes, this series did require a lot of research and thought. Most of the research took place during the years I worked on Cursed With Power. I contacted the Library of Congress to find a map of Transylvania in the late 1500s. Believe me, that was a difficult map to read with how the town names were written. I wanted to give the series a realistic feel to it, take readers back to the 1500s with Celestria and her friends. People yearn for an escape when they read, and I wanted to give them that.
What was the hardest part of your book to write?
Probably the second half of the book, involving the aftermath of the war. I spent so long in my head playing out the events of the war that I almost was lost when it came to the aftermath. Fortunately I was able to find a twist that would leave readers wanting to find out more and stay with our characters during the aftermath.
 What do you want your readers to remember about your writing?
I want them to remember the emotions and the dialog between the characters. I spent a lot of time developing character’s relationships, and I worked a lot on their emotions throughout the series. Honestly, I put these characters through Hell, but I hope the strength and determination they fought with will give people hope.
What is your worst habit?
Getting distracted! Most of the time I prefer to do  all of my writing in silence because I am very easily distracted. Plus I have two cats who always choose to run around when I write.
 What is the hardest part of writing, for you?
I think the hardest part is starting. You can have thousands of ideas in your head, but starting the beginning of the story is the hardest part. Sometimes I’ll start in the middle of the action and work my way from there. I have to get emotional invested with my characters and the plot as much as my readers do.
What do you wish you could do better?
I wish I could deal with writer’s block better. Somedays it keeps me away from writing, but I’ve learned to look for inspiration and ideas in the smallest of things. Anything to get my mind working again and return to writing.
What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?
The fact that I have my entire series is a huge accomplishment. Honestly having Cursed With Power published by a traditional published was the greatest accomplishment for my writing career. Next up on the list is to one day write full time -then I would be living the dream!
 How far are you on the sequel to this novel, if there is one?
Since this is the final book in the Magicians series there will not be a sequel. Later on in a few years there might be something relating back to the series, but we’ll see what happens. What I’m currently working on now is a novel called Clara and Claire. I’ll be talking more about it on my blog, and I’ll be writing more of the novel since this book has finally released. Definitely looking forward to writing something new!

~About the Author~

811OgrWUxpL._UX250_Lindsey R.Sablowski is a fantasy author who lives in Maryland with her fiance and two cats.Lindsey has always adored reading and writing. At twelve years old she discovered her love for magical stories and wrote her first novel.

By the age of eighteen Old Line Publishing expressed their interest in Lindsey’s novel, Cursed With Power. Lindsey has been both traditionally published and self published. Since 2010 she has worked on the Magicians series. The complete list of books in the series are as follows: Cursed With Power, Shadows and Embers, Thicker Than Blood, and Bloodline Inheritance. The series follows the lives of five Dark magicians, fighting for survival.

With the series complete, Lindsey looks forward to starting a new book.

Follow her books and learn more at her website: www.lrenees-fictionalwriter.blogspot.com

You can buy the book here!

Her other links:

Facebook          Tumblr

Twitter                Google+

Instagram            Goodreads

Your thoughts?

