Book Review: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

51dfQpy8bYL

Title: Carve the Mark

Author: Veronica Roth

Published: Jan. 17, 2017

~ From the Back Cover ~

In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.

CYRA is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

AKOS is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual current-gift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost.

Then Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?

Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship—and love—in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.

~ My Review ~

This was set in a different genre than the dystopian Divergent series, which I enjoyed. I rated them all 4 stars.

There have been some mixed reviews of this book on Goodreads. Some people said it was to die for, it was so good, and others claim it was very hard to get into because of so many characters out of the box. I’ll admit, there were several characters in the beginning, but I have never had a hard time with keeping up with that. If people can keep up with a ton of characters in movies and shows, then they should be able to keep up with them in books. The fact that the visual aspect isn’t instant, since it’s a book, is a small hurdle (to me). Use your imagination, people.

I’ll say this now, that I won’t be giving this book 5 stars, and I’ll add that I don’t usually give books 5 stars, for various reasons.

First, is because I found SEVERAL punctuation mistakes throughout the book, mostly the spacing between the quotation marks and the next sentence. I enjoy formatting books, so this is probably just me and a few of my other OCD fellows.

Secondly, I found a few instances where words were wrong (mostly prepositions and that sort of thing, small words) or they were missing entirely.

Note: This did not take away a star for me as much as the next reason. This was not the author’s fault, because the editors, and proofreaders should have caught these problems. Books, and especially traditionally published books, go through rounds and rounds of edits and proofreads before they’re ready for the final print. With so many eyes on it, there shouldn’t be this many errors, in my opinion.

Thirdly, I found that Veronica repeated memories quite a bit, about every time the characters returned to a place they’d been before. There could have been a better way to put it, so she didn’t have to say exactly what had happened in the place we just read about a couple chapters back. We remember. Instead of running through all the memories, she could have said something like, “The impact of this place is heavier on me (or “my heart”) every time I return.”, or something like that, she runs through every memory she has of the place. It’s the same with the male main character.

It annoys me to no end, because to me, it slows down the story. I already remember this place, because like I said above, I was just here a few chapters ago. I know what happened, and I don’t need to be reminded three or four times.  It’s suuuuuupppppeeeerrrrr annoying, but it’s also something I’ve noticed quite a bit in her other books.

Lastly, there was a surprise she tried and failed to hide in the book, but is glaringly obvious. If you’ve read the book, you know what I mean, and you’ll probably join me in wondering why, when it’s so obvious, is she trying to keep the suspicion going until the next installment. Hopefully, the suspense of this “surprise” will be worth the wait.

~ What I liked most about it ~

I enjoyed how she switched from Cyra’s POV to Akos’s POV. I love getting to see into the other character’s mind and get a sense of how they see things, how their mind works, and what their perception of events are based on their personal history.

I really loved how she (Veronica) explained each culture and its environment without getting all info dumpy (that’s a word, right?). She built an entire world, and as far as I saw, didn’t leave anything out where it pertained to the story.

I liked that she had real characters that didn’t fall into the stigmas of their gender.

There weren’t any cliche romances in the story either, which I always find refreshing.

~ End Note ~

It was a really good read and I enjoyed it. Though there were some errors, and some things that I found extremely irksome, I loved it and took every minute I had to read it. I still loved it, and was so into it that I dreamed about the characters every night.

I give it…. 4 stars!

I look forward to the next book, and I hope you look forward to my review of it!

Your thoughts?

